Login spices.icar.gov.in   Screen Reader 

Dr. Y. R. Sarma Memorial Lecture held at ICAR-IISR

Dr Y R Sarma Memorial Trust and ICAR Indian Institute of Spices Research (ICAR-IISR) jointly organised 6th Dr. Y. R. Sarma Memorial lecture to honour Dr. Y. R. Sarma, an eminent scientist who worked on the management of diseases of spices and plantation crops. Dr. P. Chowdappa, Former Vice Chancellor, Bharatiya Engineering, Science & Technology Innovation University (BESTIU), Andhra Pradesh delivered the memorial lecture on “Modern insights into Phytophthora evading control efforts”. Dr. A. I. Bhat, Principal Scientist & Head, Division of Crop Protection welcomed the gathering. Dr. C. K. Thankamani, Director, ICAR-IISR, Kozhikode delivered the Presidential address. Various awards instituted by the Dr Y R Sarma Memorial Trust were given during thr program. Dr Y R Sarma Memorial Trust - Best Farmer Award for 2022 was presented to Shri. P. V. Jose, Pullan House, Potta, Chalakudy, Thrissur district, Kerala. He follows a meticulous schedule of scientific cultivation practices and his farm is a model for a successful intercropping system with spices and plantation crops. Mr. Jose identified a superior nutmeg variety having high yield potential combined with unique qualities and through farmer participatory breeding, this promising variety has been released as a nutmeg variety- “KAU- Pullan”. In recognition of his untiring efforts in promoting scientific management of pest and disease in spice-based cropping system among the farming community. Dr Y. R. Sarma Memorial Trust awarded him with the Best Farmer Award for 2022. The Young Scientist Award for 2022 was presented to Dr Mohammed Faisal Peeran, Scientist, ICAR IISR, Regional Station, Appangala, for significant contributions in developing disease management strategies in spices. The Best Ph.D Thesis Award for 2022 is presented to Dr. Revathy KA. Dr. Homey Cherian (Director, Directorate of Arecanut and Spices Development) Dr. K Nirmal Babu and Dr. Santhosh J Eapen (Former Directors, ICAR-IISR, ),Mr. Ahamed Kutty(progressive farmer) and Dr. Saju KA, also spoke on the occasion. Ms. Aruna Srinivas, Vice President of the Memorial Trust and daughter of Late Dr Y R Sarma proposed the Vote of thanks.